Chief Electoral Officer announces results of Nunavut’s Second General Election


RANKIN INLET, Nunavut  – Chief Electoral Officer Sandy Kusugak tonight announced the results of the second general election for Members of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut.

Approximately 10,000 Nunavummiut voted in today’s election. Voter turnout was about the same as the 1999 general election. The Chief Electoral Officer said, “Voting went smoothly across the territory today. Blowing snow in Iqaluit, Igloolik and Hall Beach did not seem to deter voters. Although returns came in slowly the work was done well. Our Returning Officers and their staff are to be congratulated for adapting well to the provisions of the new Act.”

A recount will be held in only one constituency: Tunnuniq, where incumbent Jobie Nutarak received 142 votes closely followed by David Qamaniq with 138. The Nunavut Elections Act requires that a recount be held when the difference between the number of votes in favour of the candidate having received the most votes and any other candidate is zero or less than 2% of the total number of votes cast in the constituency. The recount is expected to be held within the next two weeks.

17 men and 2 women have been elected or acclaimed to serve as Members of the Second Legislative Assembly of Nunavut:

Akulliq:Steve Mapsalak
Amittuq: Louis Tapardjuk
Arviat: David Alagalak
Baker Lake: David Simailak
Cambridge Bay: Keith Peterson
Hudson Bay: Peter Kattuk
Iqaluit Centre: Hunter Tootoo
Iqaluit East: Ed Picco
Iqaluit West: Paul Okalik
Kugluktuk: Joe Allen Evyagotailak
Nanulik: Patterk Netser
Nattilik: Leona Aglukkaq
Pangnirtung: Peter Kilabuk
Quttiktuq: Levi Barnabas
Rankin Inlet North: Tagak Curley (acclaimed)
Rankin Inlet South-Whale Cove: Levinia Brown
South Baffin: Olayuk Akesuk
Tunnuniq: Jobie Nutarak (subject to recount)
Uqqummiut: James Arreak

The second general election was conducted under the new Nunavut Elections Act, which was passed in 2002. The Chief Electoral Officer said, “Our made-in-Nunavut legislation worked well, and included a number of innovative provisions that made it easier for residents to exercise their democratic rights.”

Writs of election must be returned by February 23, 2004.


For further information, contact:
Sandy Kusugak – Chief Electoral Officer
Ph: 800.267.4394 Rankin Inlet 645.4610
Fax: 800.269.1125 Rankin Inlet 645.4657