Early Voting Numbers

27/10/2008

RANKIN INLET, Nunavut - The early voting numbers are in. Almost 10% of eligible voters cast their ballot at the mobile poll, advance vote, voting in the office of the returning officer or by requesting a special ballot.

The highest proportion of early voters was in Baker Lake where 16.7% or 163 voters have already cast their ballot or requested a special ballot. The smallest percentage of early voters is in Uqqummiut, just 2.3%.

For those who have not yet voted, the polls are open today from 8am to 6pm Mountain time, 9am to 7pm Central time and 10am to 8pm Eastern time. Check Elections Nunavut website for results.

-30-

For details contact:
Sandy Kusugak – Chief Electoral Officer
Ph: 800.267.4394 Rankin Inlet 645.4610
Fax: 800.269.1125 Rankin Inlet 645.4657
info@elections.nu.ca