September 2011 By-election results


Voters in Iqaluit West, Pangnirtung and Tununiq went to the polls today to elect new Members of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut. By-elections were called in late spring after the resignations of the MLA’s for those constituencies.

When the counting was complete this evening Monica Inunak Ell had been successful in Iqaluit West, while Hezakiah Oshutapik won in Pangnirtung and Joe Enook won in Tununiq.

Monica Inunak Ell captured 230 votes in Iqaluit West. Her competitors, Kirt Ejesiak and Tuutalik Boychuck claimed 158 and 38 votes respectively. In Pangnirtung it was Hezakiah Oshutapik getting 218 votes and Johnny Mike getting 178. Tununiq had the largest number of candidates. There Joe Enook took the race with 285 votes while voters cast 109 ballots for David Qajaakuttuk Qamaniq, 34 for Brandy Kanayuk and 27 for Sam Sr. Omik.

Poll by poll details are available at