EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS BILL 49

June 2017

PURPOSE: Harmonize the election rules for municipal councils and DEAs with the election rules for the Legislative Assembly as much as possible.

Note: There are no changes to territorial elections

IMPORTANT CHANGES TO LOCAL ELECTIONS:

- ✓ All municipal / DEA elections will be governed by the *Nunavut Elections Act*
- ✓ New rules begin October 2018
- ✓ All elections for municipal councils, DEAs and the Legislative Assembly will follow same rules as much as possible
- ✓ The *Local Authorities Elections* Act will be repealed
- ✓ Chief Electoral Officer gives legal advice and oversees the election process
- ✓ Returning Officer (RO) continues to be appointed by municipal council / DEA
- ✓ Other election officials appointed by the RO, except for voter registration clerks who will be appointed by Elections Nunavut
- ✓ Election officers, candidates and voters will use Elections Nunavut brochures, guides, forms, ballot boxes, voting screens and other election materials
- ✓ Elections Nunavut keeps an electronic voter registration database
- ✓ Elections Nunavut produces the voters lists
- ✓ Elections Nunavut prepares and translates ballots and sends them to the RO electronically, ready for printing
- ✓ Change in residency rules for voters and candidates
 - o resident in community and resident in Nunavut for at least 12 months (don't need to be resident in the community 12 months)
- ✓ Changes in eligibility rules for candidates for municipal council
 - o Municipal employees can get leave to run for election
 - o Justices of the Peace can get leave to run for election
- ✓ No change to the disqualification of candidates for municipal council who owe money to the municipality:
 - o A person owes taxes to the municipality
 - o A person owes the municipality more than \$500, for more than 90 days

- o A person has a controlling interest in a business and the business owes the municipality more than \$500
- ✓ No nominations Candidates file a declaration of candidacy during the first five days of the election period
- ✓ Standard election date for all municipal / DEA elections 4th Monday in October
- ✓ Standard term of office 4 years for all members of municipal councils / DEAs
- ✓ General elections every 4 years for all municipal councils / DEAs
- ✓ Vacancies for mayor filled by appointing a councillor or holding a by-election
- ✓ Vacancies for councillors / DEAs filled by
 - o appointing a runner-up from the previous election
 - o public call for applicants and appointing an eligible person
- ✓ No by-elections, except as an option for mayors
- ✓ Voting hours from 9 am to 7 pm on Election Day
- ✓ Eligible voters can register to vote on Election Day if their name isn't on the voters list
- ✓ Mobile poll and advance vote are one week before Election Day
- ✓ Other special voting methods available when requested and appropriate (e.g. large community):
 - o voting in the RO's office
 - o special ballot
 - o proxy voting
 - o voting by telecommunications device
- ✓ Joint municipal / DEA elections possible
- ✓ Chief Electoral Officer may authorize the use of vote tabulation machines
- ✓ Administrative recount supervised by CEO if there is a tie vote or 2% difference in votes
- ✓ Candidates may apply for judicial recount by a justice of the peace
- ✓ Tie votes to be decided by a draw of names
- ✓ Elections Nunavut issues official election results, including acclamations
- ✓ Election results posted on Elections Nunavut website

SUMMARY OF MAIN CLAUSES OF THE BILL:

1. Clause 1 — Amendments to the Cities, Towns and Villages Act

- Replaces all references to the old *Local Authorities Elections Act* with Part VIII.1 of the *Nunavut Elections Act*
- Changes the term of office to 4 years
- Employees may apply for leave to run for office
- First elections and elections to return control from administrator to a council are determined by Minister and Chief Electoral Officer

2. Clause 2 — Amendment to the Conflict of Interests Act

• Replaces reference to the old *Local Authorities Elections Act* with Part VIII.1 of the *Nunavut Elections Act*

3. Clause 3 — Amendments to the Education Act

- Replaces all references to the old *Local Authorities Elections Act* with Part VIII.1 of the *Nunavut Elections Act*
- Changes the term of office to 4 years
- Employees may apply for leave to run for office
- First elections and elections to return control from administrator to a DEA are determined by Minister and Chief Electoral Officer

4. Clause 4 — Amendments to the *Hamlets Act*

- Replaces all references to the old *Local Authorities Elections Act* with Part VIII.1 of the *Nunavut Elections Act*
- Changes the term of office to 4 years
- Employees may apply for leave to run for office
- First elections and elections to return control from administrator to a council are determined by Minister and Chief Electoral Officer

5. Clause 5 — Amendments to the *Justices of the Peace Act*

• JPs may apply for leave to run as a candidate for mayor or councillor

6. Clause 6 — Amendments to the Liquor Act

• Corrects reference to voters list

7. Clause 7 — Repeals the Local Authorities Elections Act

8. Clause 8 — Amendments to the *Nunavut Elections Act*

- Improves the standards for the Chief Electoral Officer to keep and publish important election documents
- Adds a new Part VIII.1 for Municipal Elections. This Part sets out the rules for elections to municipal councils and DEAs

9. Clause 9 — Amendments to the *Public Service Act*

- Replaces all references to the old *Local Authorities Elections Act* with Part VIII.1 of the *Nunavut Elections Act*
- Creates new definition of "local authority" to cover municipal councils, DEAs and settlement councils

10. Clause 10 — Amendments to the Settlements Act

- Replaces all references to the old *Local Authorities Elections Act* with Part VIII.1 of the *Nunavut Elections Act*
- Changes the term of office to 4 years
- Employees may apply for leave to run for office
- First elections and elections to return control from administrator to a council are determined by Minister and Chief Electoral Officer

11. Clause 11 — Transitional rules

- No municipal or DEA elections in 2018
- All terms of office for mayors, councillors and members of DEAs are extended or shortened to end in October 2019

12. Clause 12 — Commencement

- New election rules come into force on April 1, 2019
- Transitional rules start on October 1, 2018