The COVID-19 pandemic will have an impact on how we administer the October 25, 2021 General Election. 

We are working closely with the Chief Public Health Officer to ensure our communities have an opportunity to participate in forming our government while remaining safe. Learn more.

Find the latest COVID-19 health resources.

Election Guidelines During COVID-19

Frequently Asked Questions

Plebiscites

No. Sometimes a plebiscite is used as a consultation tool, rather than as a way to definitively decide a question. Before a plebiscite vote is held, there is a formal statement issued that says if the results will be binding.

The plebiscite authority responsible for the issue decides whether to hold a plebiscite. The authority can be the Legislative Assembly, cabinet, a minister, or a municipality. If they have not already expressed the intent to hold a plebiscite on the issue, it can be requested through a public petition signed by 20% of eligible voters. If the plebiscite authority decides to proceed, they consult with Elections Nunavut to establish the wording of the question, the voting group, the schedule and the budget. Upon receiving formal instructions from the authority, Elections Nunavut holds the plebiscite vote and then announces the result.

An election is the process of choosing a person for public office by voting. In Nunavut, we elect mayors, municipal councillors, members of the District Education Authority, and members of the Legislative Assembly.

A plebiscite is also a vote, but instead of choosing Members of the Legislative Assembly, voters are asked an important question to which they must answer “yes” or “no”.

La pandémie de COVID-19 aura une incidence sur la façon dont se dérouleront les élections générales le 25 octobre 2021. 

Nous collaborons étroitement avec l’administrateur en chef de la santé publique pour garantir que nos collectivités puissent participer à la formation de notre gouvernement tout en demeurant en sécurité. Pour en savoir plus.

COVID-19 : ressources en santé les plus récentes.

Foire aux questions

Référendum

Non. Parfois, un référendum est utilisé comme outil de consultation plutôt que comme un moyen de trancher définitivement une question. Avant la tenue d’un scrutin référendaire, une déclaration officielle est publiée indiquant si les résultats du référendum auront force obligatoire ou non.

L’instance référendaire responsable de la question décide s’il est opportun de tenir un référendum. Cette instance peut être l’Assemblée législative, le conseil exécutif, un ministre ou une municipalité. Si l’instance référendaire n’a pas manifesté l’intention de tenir un référendum sur une question donnée, la tenue d’un référendum peut être demandée au moyen d’une pétition publique signée par 20 % des électeurs admissibles. Si l’instance référendaire décide d’aller de l’avant avec la tenue d’un référendum, elle consulte Élections Nunavut pour établir le libellé de la question référendaire, le groupe d’électeurs visé, le calendrier et le budget. Après avoir reçu des instructions formelles de la part de l’instance référendaire, Élections Nunavut tient le scrutin référendaire, puis annonce le résultat.

Une élection est un processus permettant de choisir lors d’un scrutin une personne qui occupera une charge publique. Au Nunavut, nous élisons des maires, des conseillers municipaux, les membres des administrations scolaires de district et les députés de l’Assemblée législative.

Un référendum est également un scrutin, mais au lieu de choisir une personne, les électeurs doivent répondre à une question référendaire par « oui » ou « non ».