About Us

Elections Nunavut administers territorial, municipal and District Education Authority (DEA) elections, as well as territorial and local plebiscites. Elections Nunavut is all the people that work to make an electoral event happen.  They have a duty to follow the Nunavut Elections Act and the Plebiscites Act and be faithful to them.

Elections Nunavut includes:

  • Chief Electoral Officer and staff in Rankin Inlet
  • Election officers

Chief Electoral Officer

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) has an office and staff in Rankin Inlet. The CEO looks after everything about Nunavut’s elections and plebiscites. They make sure everyone follows the Nunavut Elections Act and the Plebiscites Act.

The Commissioner of Nunavut appoints the CEO. The Legislative Assembly recommends who the Commissioner should appoint. Each CEO has their job for seven years and the Commissioner can appoint the same person for a second term of seven years.

Election officers

Election officers are people who work for Elections Nunavut during an election or a plebiscite.

They include:

  • Returning officers

  • Assistant returning officers

  • Registration clerks

  • Deputy returning officers

  • Poll clerks

À propos

Élections Nunavut administre les élections territoriales, municipales et des administrations scolaires de district (ASD), ainsi que le référendums locaux et territoriaux. Élections Nunavut regroupe toutes les personnes chargées d’assurer la tenue des divers événements électoraux. Ces personnes doivent respecter les dispositions de la Loi électorale du Nunavut et de la Loi sur les référendums.

Élections Nunavut comprend:

  • Le directeur général des élections (DGE) et son personnel, à Rankin Inlet
  • Des officiers d’élection

Directeur général des élections

Le directeur général des élections (DGE) a ses bureaux et du personnel à Rankin Inlet. Le DGE est responsable de l’administration des élections et des référendums au Nunavut. Il s´assure que tous respectent les dispositions de  Loi électorale du Nunavut et de la Loi sur les référendums.

Le Commissaire du Nunavut nomme le DGE. L´Assemblée législative recommande qui le Commissaire devrait nommer. Chaque DGE travaille pendant sept ans et le Commissaire peut nommer à nouveau la même personne.

Officiers d’élection

Les officiers d’élection sont des personnes qui travaillent pour Élections Nunavut lors d’une élection.

  • Des directeurs de scrutin
  • Des directeurs adjoints du scrutin
  • Greffiers du scrutin
  • Des scrutateurs
  • Des commis à l’inscription