About Territorial Elections

Territorial general election

A territorial general election is when Nunavummiut voters elect all Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs). The MLAs form the Government of Nunavut and make laws. We have a general election every four years to elect an MLA in each constituency. All eligible Nunavummiut voters can vote in a general election.

Territorial by-election

A territorial by-election is when eligible voters in one constituency elect an MLA. This can happen when an MLA leaves their job before the next territorial general election. Only voters in that constituency can vote in a by-election.